CCF is a 501(c)3 educational nonprofit. You help support the work of CCF when you purchase from vendors via the links posted on our site.
Home | About | Subscribe | Postcards | Polls | Translate | BookSense | BookCloseouts | Blog | | Contact Us | Add to My Yahoo! RSS feed

 CCF Top Picks
 CCF Kids
 CCF Youth
 Tibbetts' POV
 Book Clubs
 Holiday Favorites

Home > Awards
2004 National Book Awards Finalists
Oct 13, 2004
2004 National Book Awards FinalistsNew York, New York (October 13, 2004)-The 20 Finalists for the 2004 National Book Awards, announced today, are among America's most gifted and original writers and their books represent an astonishing range of styles, voices, and themes.

2003 Golden Archer Award
May 2003
The Golden Archer Award is our state's student-choice literature award sponsored by The Wisconsin Educational Media Association (WEMA). The 2003 winners were chosen by 14,000 Wisconsin school children and young adults as announced at the recent WEMA Spring Conference.

2003 Jane Addams Children's Book Awards
May 1, 2003
Winners of the 2003 Jane Addams Children's Book Awards were announced on April 28 by the Jane Addams Peace Association. Organized on that date in 1915, much of the educational work of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom is funded by JAPA.

2003 Book Sense Book of the Year Finalists Announced
Feb 27, 2003
The American Booksellers Association has announced the finalists for the 2003 Book Sense Book of the Year Awards. The finalists in six categories -- Adult Fiction, Adult Nonfiction, Children's Literature, Children's Illustrated, Rediscovery, and Paperback -- are all Book Sense 76 titles nominated by ABA bookseller members as their handselling favorites. The awards will be announced at the Celebration of Bookselling, on Friday, May 30, during this year's BookExpo America, at the Los Angeles Convention Center in California.

2003 Newbery & Caldecott Awards
Jan 27, 2003
The ALA announced the 2003 Newbery Award Winners. Avi, author of Crispin: The Cross of Lead, and Eric Rohmann, illustrator and author of My Friend Rabbit, are the 2003 winners of the John Newbery and Randolph Caldecott medals, the most prestigious awards in children’s literature.

2003 Coretta Scott King Awards
Jan 27, 2003
Nikki Grimes, author of Bronx Masquerade, and E.B. Lewis, illustrator of Talkin' About Bessie: The Story of Aviator Elizabeth Coleman, are the 2003 Coretta Scott King Awards honoring African-American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults. Janet McDonald, author of Chill Wind, is the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent (text) Award; and Randy DuBurke is the Steptoe New Talent (illustrator) Award.

2002 National Book Award Winners
Nov 20, 2002
The winners of the 2002 National Book Awards were announced on November 20, 2002, at a ceremony at the New York Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. Awarded annually since 1950, The National Book Awards are given in the genres of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and young people's literature.

Award Winners: What does it mean?
Oct. 19, 2002
The National Book Awards, the Pulitzers and the National Book Critics these awards translate into sales for the books winning them? What kinds of sales are these? Seasonal or enduring classics? What is it these titles are being awarded for? Are these books good reads? Do booksellers stock them because they're worth reading or because of the medal imprinted on the covers? Voice your opinions at the CCF Forum by clicking "comments" but first check out Tim Rutten's, of the L.A. Times, honest take on these big book prizes.
  Download/View File ]  Message board ] 

Award Winners > Edgar Allan Poe Awards
Updated: Annually since 1954
The Edgar Allan Poe awards (the "Edgars") are named after Mystery Writers of America's patron saint, Edgar Allan Poe, and are awarded to authors of distinguished work in various categories of the genre. It is one of the most prestigious awards for mystery writers. Winners are presented with a bust of Edgar Allan Poe. Click the title of this article for a list of Edgars award winners from 1954 to present. For more information on the MWA and how to join their organization visit their website.

Award Winners > Christopher Awards
Updated: Annually in February since 1949
The Christopher Awards were established in 1949. They are presented to "the producers, directors and writers of books, motion pictures and television specials. Works are judged on the basis of their (1) artistic and technical proficiency, (2) significant degree of public acceptance, and (3) affirmation of the highest values of the human spirit." Visit The Christophers web site.

Advanced Search
click to subscribe and get the CCF bulletin click to subscribe and get the CCF bulletin

Visit CCF on eBay
Visit CCF on eBay!!!
To Amazon from CCF

"Pa'lante" (Move on) by Willy Chirino
Highlights 2008 Fiction Contest
Run the Great Wall Marathon with Christine!
Run Antarctica with Christine!
The Science Is In: Elephants Are Even Smarter Than We Realized
Synchronization of 32 metronomes
The real zoo behind the movie "We Bought a Zoo"
How many types of bikes can you name?
Be the Boss of Diabetes
New study suggests food to be as addictive as heroin/cocaine.
Charter School Defies Odds: Thurgood Marshall Academy in D.C.
Anna Fitzhugh Helps Kids with Learning Disabilities
CCF Writer: An Online Writing Contest
When Push Comes to Shove
2010 ALA Youth Media Awards
Follow the ALA Youth Media Awards live on Jan. 18, 2010
CCF Links
CCF Bulletin 8:1
Barack Obama: We are what we learn
Stephen King & Jerry Jenkins: An Epic Conversation on Writing
Holiday Favorites
What is your favorite holiday book or tradition?
Farolitos of Christmas

© 1998-2008 Children Come First. All rights reserved.