CCF is a 501(c)3 educational nonprofit. You help support the work of CCF when you purchase from vendors via the links posted on our site.
Home | About | Subscribe | Postcards | Polls | Translate | BookSense | BookCloseouts | Blog | | Contact Us | Add to My Yahoo! RSS feed

 CCF Top Picks
 CCF Kids
 CCF Youth
 Tibbetts' POV
 Book Clubs
 Holiday Favorites

Home > BOOKS
Ultraprevention: Get Healthy for Life
If you follow this program, write and tell us about it!
Two physicians unveil a revolutionary, accessible, science-based, patient-centered program for living an active, age-defying, disease-free life in their book, Ultraprevention: The 6-Week Plan That Will Make You Healthy for Life, now available in paperback.

The "Lucky" controversy: An educator's response
2007 Newbery Medal Winner, "The Higher Power of Lucky" by Susan PatronFew Newbery winners make such a splash in the national media as the 2007 winner has. In this article, Linnea Hendrickson responds to the controversy surrounding the use of the word "scrotum" in this year's Newbery Medal winner, The Higher Power of Lucky. In so doing, she answers the one questions we had, whether the use of the word in question was intentional, designed to raise the publicity the book has now garnered

Newbery Award Winners: 1922 to present
Updated: Annually in January since 1922
The Newbery Medal is awarded annually in January by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children in the previous year. Fredric G. Melcher proposed the award to the Children's Section of the American Library Association in June, 1921. It is named for the Eighteenth-Century English bookseller John Newbery. Read more about the Newbery Medal by visiting the ALA site.

Caldecott Medal Winners: 1938 to present
Updated: Annually in January since 1938
In the words of the ALA, "The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children." Read more about the Caldecott Awards by visiting the ALA site.

The Secret
The Secret, a book by Rhonda ByrneThe Secret is a book by Rhonda Byrne that came across our desk and, just on looks alone, it's a title that should sell. The publisher took care to design the cover and page layout in such exquisite detail you actually feel like you're holding a precious secret in your hands. It's available from at a discount.

The Art of Dramatic Writing
Pick up Lajos Egri book, Art Of Dramatic Writing: Its Basis in the Creative Interpretation of Human Motives. I though I was ready to launch a book until I read Egri's book. He explains how to make the difference in a great story, a story that will be remembered for its character, as oppose to a common story, a nice story.

National Book Awards
Updated: Annually in the Fall since 1950
Awarded annually since 1950, The National Book Awards are given in the genres of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and young people's literature. A $10,000 cash award and a crystal sculpture is given to the winners which are selected by five-member, independent judging panels for each genre. The awards are considered by many to be the U.S.'s preeminent literary prizes and the awards ceremony quite an important event in literary calendars. From its inception in 1950 the goal of the award has been to bring exceptional books to the public's awareness and to increase the popularity of reading in general. Click the title of this article for a list of award winners 1950 to the present. The National Book Foundation sponsors this award. For more information visit their web site.

Hugo Awards
Updated: Annually since 1946
The Hugo Award, also known as the Science Fiction Achievement Award, is given annually by the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS). The Hugos are one of science fiction's most prestigious honors. The distinguishing characteristics of the Hugo Award are that it is sponsored by WSFS, administered by the committee of the World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon) held that year, and determined by nominations from, and a popular vote of, the membership of WSFS. In general, a Hugo Award is given in the year following publication. A list of all the Hugo-winning novels since 1953 is available from The Hugos are awarded in the categories of dramatic presentation, nonfiction, novel, novelette, novella, and related book. To see the list of Hugo Award winners in these categories (1946 to present) click the title of this article. To learn more about the Hugo Awards check out the WSFS site.

Books for the College Market
September 9, 2006
New from Random House, four books college students may want to read: "Social Intelligence," "Mindless Eating: Why We Eat More Than We Think," "The Power of Nice How to Conquer the Business World with Kindness," and "Circle in the Sand."

Summer 2006 Book Sense Children's Picks
Summer 2006
The Summer 2006 Children's Book Sense Picks can now be previewed online.  Titles are grouped in age-graded categories. Scroll down past the top ten suggested titles and you'll find suggested readings for children all the way to teens. Our thanks go to Book Sense and the ABA for compiling these lists!   Visit Website ]  Message board ] 

Advanced Search
click to subscribe and get the CCF bulletin click to subscribe and get the CCF bulletin

Visit CCF on eBay
Visit CCF on eBay!!!
To Amazon from CCF

"Pa'lante" (Move on) by Willy Chirino
Highlights 2008 Fiction Contest
Run the Great Wall Marathon with Christine!
Run Antarctica with Christine!
The Science Is In: Elephants Are Even Smarter Than We Realized
Synchronization of 32 metronomes
The real zoo behind the movie "We Bought a Zoo"
How many types of bikes can you name?
Be the Boss of Diabetes
New study suggests food to be as addictive as heroin/cocaine.
Charter School Defies Odds: Thurgood Marshall Academy in D.C.
Anna Fitzhugh Helps Kids with Learning Disabilities
CCF Writer: An Online Writing Contest
When Push Comes to Shove
2010 ALA Youth Media Awards
Follow the ALA Youth Media Awards live on Jan. 18, 2010
CCF Links
CCF Bulletin 8:1
Barack Obama: We are what we learn
Stephen King & Jerry Jenkins: An Epic Conversation on Writing
Holiday Favorites
What is your favorite holiday book or tradition?
Farolitos of Christmas

© 1998-2008 Children Come First. All rights reserved.