CCF is a 501(c)3 educational nonprofit. You help support the work of CCF when you purchase from vendors via the links posted on our site.
Home | About | Subscribe | Postcards | Polls | Translate | BookSense | BookCloseouts | Blog | | Contact Us | Add to My Yahoo! RSS feed

 CCF Top Picks
 CCF Kids
 CCF Youth
 Tibbetts' POV
 Book Clubs
 Holiday Favorites

Shipping & Returns
Privacy Notice
Conditions of Use
Contact Us

Home > Awards                           Share this article with others!
2003 Coretta Scott King Awards
by staff writer, Jan 27, 2003
Printer-friendly page Printer page
Email this Page Email article

ALA News Release
For Immediate Release
January 27, 2003

American Library Association announces award winners; Grimes, Lewis receive 2003 Coretta Scott King Award

(PHILADELPHIA) – Nikki Grimes, author of Bronx Masquerade, and E.B. Lewis, illustrator of Talkin' About Bessie: The Story of Aviator Elizabeth Coleman, are the 2003 Coretta Scott King Awards honoring African-American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults. Janet McDonald, author of Chill Wind, is the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent (text) Award; and Randy DuBurke is the Steptoe New Talent (illustrator) Award.

2003 Coretta Scott King Award Winner
Bronx Masquerade, published by Dial Books for Young Readers, is a fast-paced and revealing novel that features the voices of 18 urban youth who share their innermost feelings in their open-mic poetry presentations. Set in a Bronx high school, Grimes’ characters are developed through short monologues paired with self-revealing poetry.

“Grimes boldly offers a glimpse into the heart and suffering of each student, who, like many contemporary youth, struggle to discover their identity,” said Award Committee Chair Fran Ware. “The book’s realistic and edgy portrayal of urban youth is hopeful and positive.”

2003 Coretta Scott King Award Winner
In Talkin' About Bessie: The Story of Aviator Elizabeth Coleman, also written by Grimes and published by Orchard Books, an imprint of Scholastic, Inc., winning illustrator E.B. Lewis places Bessie at the center of each gracefully composed painting. His precise attention to historic detail in oversized watercolor paintings parallels and extends Grimes’ poetry.

“Each skillfully drawn, realistic and dramatic painting highlights Bessie’s determination, excitement, pride or joy,” Ware said. “Collectively, they shine light on the complexity of her life and times. The elegant sepia-toned thumbnail portraits that accompany each painting complete this satisfying package.”

Occasionally awarded, the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award affirms new talent and offers visibility to excellence in writing or illustration at the beginning of a career as a published children’s book creator. Chill Wind by Janet McDonald is the story of Aisha, an unwed teen mother of two, who is forced to face the termination of welfare benefits. The book is published by Frances Foster Books/Farrar, Straus and Giroux. The Moon Ring , illustrated and written by Randy DuBurke, sends his main character, Maxine, on a wild and surreal adventure across space and time that begins with a simple wish on a magic ring. The book is published by Chronicle Books.

Two King Author Honor Books were selected: Talkin' About Bessie: The Story of Aviator Elizabeth Coleman and The Red Rose Box by Brenda Woods and published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons.

Two King Illustrator Honor Books were selected: Rap a Tap Tap: Here's Bojangles-Think of That!, illustrated and written by Leo and Diane Dillon and published by Blue Sky Press, an imprint of Scholastic, Inc.; and Visiting Langston, illustrated by Bryan Collier, written by Willie Perdomo and published by Henry Holt and Co. Books for Young Readers.

The awards are administered by the Coretta Scott King Task Force of the ALA.

Recognized worldwide for the high quality they represent, ALA awards guide parents, educators, librarians and others in selecting the best materials for youth. Selected by judging committees composed of librarians and other children’s experts, the awards encourage original and creative work. For more information on the ALA youth media awards and notables, go online at: -

Contact: Larra Clark/Paige Wasson
Copyright © 2002, American Library Association.


Top of PageTop of Page

Advanced Search
click to subscribe and get the CCF bulletin click to subscribe and get the CCF bulletin

Click to blog image

What's New
2010 ALA Youth Media Awards
Follow the ALA Youth Media Awards live on Jan. 18, 2010
Carmen Tafolla Wins 2010 Charlotte Zolotow Award
ALA Awards 2009
Coretta Scott King Awards
Newbery Award Winners: 1922 to present
Caldecott Medal Winners: 1938 to present
National Book Awards
Hugo Awards
A Look at the Caldecott Awards
2004 National Book Awards Finalists
2003 Golden Archer Award
2003 Jane Addams Children's Book Awards
2003 Book Sense Book of the Year Finalists Announced
2003 Newbery & Caldecott Awards
2003 Coretta Scott King Awards

© 1998-2008 Children Come First. All rights reserved.