CCF is a 501(c)3 educational nonprofit. You help support the work of CCF when you purchase from vendors via the links posted on our site.
Home | About | Subscribe | Postcards | Polls | Translate | BookSense | BookCloseouts | Blog | | Contact Us | Add to My Yahoo! RSS feed

 CCF Top Picks
 CCF Kids
 CCF Youth
 Tibbetts' POV
 Book Clubs
 Holiday Favorites

Shipping & Returns
Privacy Notice
Conditions of Use
Contact Us

Home > Awards                           Share this article with others!
2003 Golden Archer Award
by Mary Ann Blahnik, WEMA Golden Archer Committee member, May 2003
Printer-friendly page Printer page
Email this Page Email article

The Golden Archer Award is our state's student-choice literature award sponsored by The Wisconsin Educational Media Association (WEMA). The 2003 winners chosen by 14,000 Wisconsin school children and young adults as announced at the recent WEMA Spring Conference are:

Primary Level:
The Shark God
by Rafe Martin
Intermediate Level:  
Because of Winn-Dixie
by Kate DiCamillo
Middle School/Junior High Level:  
Stormbreaker by Anthony Horowitz

Teachers and library media specialists are encouraged to solicit nominations from their students for next year's award.  Nominations should be sent by May 15th to my school e-mail address: or faxed to 920-746-3885.

Titles nominated must have been published in the past 5 years.  Send only the top 5 nominations in a school and include the number of students nominating each of those 5 titles.  For more information on the Golden Archer Award, see

May 15th is the deadline for nominations. Since the Wisconsin Educational Media Association (WEMA) took over sponsorship of the award in 1996, we have tried several timelines for nominating and for voting.  The May 15th one seems to work best.  By announcing the list of nominees in the spring (shortly after the May 15 deadline), it is hoped that teachers and librarians will be able to order the necessary books and "hit the ground running" when school opens in the fall.  They have six months  to promote the titles and have the students read them before voting and sending in their results by the March 15th deadline.  Winners are announced at the WEMA Spring Conference in early April. 

For more information please contact Carol Neuser, Golden Archer Committee, at

Please pass this information along to anyone you may think might participate.

Thank You,
Mary Ann Blahnik, Librarian
T.J. Walker Middle School
Sturgeon Bay, WI
(member of WEMA Golden Archer Committee...and vote counter)


Top of PageTop of Page

Advanced Search
click to subscribe and get the CCF bulletin click to subscribe and get the CCF bulletin

Click to blog image

What's New
2010 ALA Youth Media Awards
Follow the ALA Youth Media Awards live on Jan. 18, 2010
Carmen Tafolla Wins 2010 Charlotte Zolotow Award
ALA Awards 2009
Coretta Scott King Awards
Newbery Award Winners: 1922 to present
Caldecott Medal Winners: 1938 to present
National Book Awards
Hugo Awards
A Look at the Caldecott Awards
2004 National Book Awards Finalists
2003 Golden Archer Award
2003 Jane Addams Children's Book Awards
2003 Book Sense Book of the Year Finalists Announced
2003 Newbery & Caldecott Awards
2003 Coretta Scott King Awards

© 1998-2008 Children Come First. All rights reserved.