CCF is a 501(c)3 educational nonprofit. You help support the work of CCF when you purchase from vendors via the links posted on our site.
Home | About | Subscribe | Postcards | Polls | Translate | BookSense | BookCloseouts | Blog | | Contact Us | Add to My Yahoo! RSS feed

 CCF Top Picks
 CCF Kids
 CCF Youth
 Tibbetts' POV
 Book Clubs
 Holiday Favorites

Shipping & Returns
Privacy Notice
Conditions of Use
Contact Us

Home > Awards                           Share this article with others!
Follow the ALA Youth Media Awards live on Jan. 18, 2010
by staff writer, 2010.01.15
Printer-friendly page Printer page
Email this Page Email article

For Immediate Release
October 27, 2009

Contact: Macey Morales
ALA Media Relations

Join thousands as ALA , ALSC and YALSA unveil the best of the best in children’s and young adult literature and media

CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) will provide a free live webcast of its Youth Media Awards, a national announcement of the top books and media for children and young adults, on Jan. 18, at 7:45 a.m. EST. The award announcements are made as part of the ALA Midwinter Meeting, which will bring together librarians, publishers, authors and guests to the Boston Convention and Exhibition Center from Jan. 15 to 19.

Recognized worldwide for the high quality they represent, the ALA Youth Media Awards guide parents, educators, librarians and others in selecting the best materials for children and young adults.  This year’s announcement includes 17 awards including the  Coretta Scott King Book Awards; John Newbery Medal;  Michael L. Printz Award; Schneider Family Book Award; and the Randolph Caldecott Medal.

Unikron, a streaming content provider, will host the ALA Youth Media Awards Webcast. The number of available connections for the Webcast is limited and the broadcast is available on a first-come, first-served basis. Online visitors can view the live Webcast the morning of the announcements by going to  Those interested in following the action live should bookmark the URL. 

The ALA will instantly announce presentation results using Twitter. Members can view live updates on the ALA Youth Media Awards press kit  and via tweets at Members can also follow live updates via the Youth Media Awards RSS and the ALA Youth Media Awards Facebook page.  

The press release announcing all ALA Youth Media Award recipients will be posted in the Youth Media Awards Press Kit at  prior to 9:30 a.m. EST. 


Top of PageTop of Page

Advanced Search
click to subscribe and get the CCF bulletin click to subscribe and get the CCF bulletin

Click to blog image

What's New
2010 ALA Youth Media Awards
Follow the ALA Youth Media Awards live on Jan. 18, 2010
Carmen Tafolla Wins 2010 Charlotte Zolotow Award
ALA Awards 2009
Coretta Scott King Awards
Newbery Award Winners: 1922 to present
Caldecott Medal Winners: 1938 to present
National Book Awards
Hugo Awards
A Look at the Caldecott Awards
2004 National Book Awards Finalists
2003 Golden Archer Award
2003 Jane Addams Children's Book Awards
2003 Book Sense Book of the Year Finalists Announced
2003 Newbery & Caldecott Awards
2003 Coretta Scott King Awards

© 1998-2008 Children Come First. All rights reserved.