CCF is a 501(c)3 educational nonprofit. You help support the work of CCF when you purchase from vendors via the links posted on our site.
Home | About | Subscribe | Postcards | Polls | Translate | BookSense | BookCloseouts | Blog | | Contact Us | Add to My Yahoo! RSS feed

 CCF Top Picks
 CCF Kids
 CCF Youth
 Tibbetts' POV
 Book Clubs
 Holiday Favorites

Home > Awards
2010 ALA Youth Media Awards
American Library Association announces literary award winners
BOSTON - The American Library Association (ALA) today announced the top books, audiobooks and video for children and young adults – including the Caldecott, King, Newbery and Printz awards – at its Midwinter Meeting in Boston.

Follow the ALA Youth Media Awards live on Jan. 18, 2010
CHICAGO - The American Library Association (ALA) will provide a free live webcast of its Youth Media Awards, a national announcement of the top books and media for children and young adults, on Jan. 18, at 7:45 a.m. EST. The award announcements are made as part of the ALA Midwinter Meeting, which will bring together librarians, publishers, authors and guests to the Boston Convention and Exhibition Center from Jan. 15 to 19.

Carmen Tafolla Wins 2010 Charlotte Zolotow Award
Madison, WI  -- What Can You Do with a Paleta? by Carmen Tafolla is the thirteenth annual winner of the Charlotte Zolotow Award for outstanding writing in a picture book. The award is given by the Cooperative Children's Book Center, a library of the School of Education at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

ALA Awards 2009
The results of the American Library Association’s (ALA) Click to watch the video of the 2009 ALA Youth Media Awards, which present the best of the best in children’s and young adult literature and media, at the Colorado Convention Center 2009.

Coretta Scott King Awards
Updated: Annually in January since 1969
This award is given to authors and illustrators of African descent "whose distinguished books promote an understanding and appreciation of the American Dream." It is awarded annually by the Coretta Scott King Task Force of the ALA. Find out more about this prestigious award!

Newbery Award Winners: 1922 to present
Updated: Annually in January since 1922
The Newbery Medal is awarded annually in January by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children in the previous year. Fredric G. Melcher proposed the award to the Children's Section of the American Library Association in June, 1921. It is named for the Eighteenth-Century English bookseller John Newbery. Read more about the Newbery Medal by visiting the ALA site.

Caldecott Medal Winners: 1938 to present
Updated: Annually in January since 1938
In the words of the ALA, "The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children." Read more about the Caldecott Awards by visiting the ALA site.

National Book Awards
Updated: Annually in the Fall since 1950
Awarded annually since 1950, The National Book Awards are given in the genres of fiction, nonfiction, poetry and young people's literature. A $10,000 cash award and a crystal sculpture is given to the winners which are selected by five-member, independent judging panels for each genre. The awards are considered by many to be the U.S.'s preeminent literary prizes and the awards ceremony quite an important event in literary calendars. From its inception in 1950 the goal of the award has been to bring exceptional books to the public's awareness and to increase the popularity of reading in general. Click the title of this article for a list of award winners 1950 to the present. The National Book Foundation sponsors this award. For more information visit their web site.

Hugo Awards
Updated: Annually since 1946
The Hugo Award, also known as the Science Fiction Achievement Award, is given annually by the World Science Fiction Society (WSFS). The Hugos are one of science fiction's most prestigious honors. The distinguishing characteristics of the Hugo Award are that it is sponsored by WSFS, administered by the committee of the World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon) held that year, and determined by nominations from, and a popular vote of, the membership of WSFS. In general, a Hugo Award is given in the year following publication. A list of all the Hugo-winning novels since 1953 is available from The Hugos are awarded in the categories of dramatic presentation, nonfiction, novel, novelette, novella, and related book. To see the list of Hugo Award winners in these categories (1946 to present) click the title of this article. To learn more about the Hugo Awards check out the WSFS site.

A Look at the Caldecott Awards
Originally published 05-10-03
Caldecott MedalAuthor and university professor Dr. Peter F. Neumeyer evaluates the 2003 Caldecott winners and mentions excellent titles that were passed by.

Advanced Search
click to subscribe and get the CCF bulletin click to subscribe and get the CCF bulletin

Visit CCF on eBay
Visit CCF on eBay!!!
To Amazon from CCF

"Pa'lante" (Move on) by Willy Chirino
Highlights 2008 Fiction Contest
Run the Great Wall Marathon with Christine!
Run Antarctica with Christine!
The Science Is In: Elephants Are Even Smarter Than We Realized
Synchronization of 32 metronomes
The real zoo behind the movie "We Bought a Zoo"
How many types of bikes can you name?
Be the Boss of Diabetes
New study suggests food to be as addictive as heroin/cocaine.
Charter School Defies Odds: Thurgood Marshall Academy in D.C.
Anna Fitzhugh Helps Kids with Learning Disabilities
CCF Writer: An Online Writing Contest
When Push Comes to Shove
2010 ALA Youth Media Awards
Follow the ALA Youth Media Awards live on Jan. 18, 2010
CCF Links
CCF Bulletin 8:1
Barack Obama: We are what we learn
Stephen King & Jerry Jenkins: An Epic Conversation on Writing
Holiday Favorites
What is your favorite holiday book or tradition?
Farolitos of Christmas

© 1998-2008 Children Come First. All rights reserved.