CCF is a 501(c)3 educational nonprofit. You help support the work of CCF when you purchase from vendors via the links posted on our site.
Home | About | Subscribe | Postcards | Polls | Translate | BookSense | BookCloseouts | Blog | | Contact Us | Add to My Yahoo! RSS feed

 CCF Top Picks
 CCF Kids
 CCF Youth
 Tibbetts' POV
 Book Clubs
 Holiday Favorites

Home > Award Winners

A Look at the Caldecott Awards
Originally published 05-10-03
Caldecott MedalAuthor and university professor Dr. Peter F. Neumeyer evaluates the 2003 Caldecott winners and mentions excellent titles that were passed by.

2004 National Book Awards Finalists
Oct 13, 2004
2004 National Book Awards FinalistsNew York, New York (October 13, 2004)-The 20 Finalists for the 2004 National Book Awards, announced today, are among America's most gifted and original writers and their books represent an astonishing range of styles, voices, and themes.

Newbery Award Winners
Updated: Annually in January since 1922
The Newbery Medal is awarded annually in January by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children in the previous year. Fredric G. Melcher proposed the award to the Children's Section of the American Library Association in June, 1921. It is named for the Eighteenth-Century English bookseller John Newbery. Read more about the Newbery Medal by visiting the ALA site.

2003 Golden Archer Award
May 2003
The Golden Archer Award is our state's student-choice literature award sponsored by The Wisconsin Educational Media Association (WEMA). The 2003 winners were chosen by 14,000 Wisconsin school children and young adults as announced at the recent WEMA Spring Conference.

2003 Jane Addams Children's Book Awards
May 1, 2003
Winners of the 2003 Jane Addams Children's Book Awards were announced on April 28 by the Jane Addams Peace Association. Organized on that date in 1915, much of the educational work of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom is funded by JAPA.

2003 Book Sense Book of the Year Finalists Announced
Feb 27, 2003
The American Booksellers Association has announced the finalists for the 2003 Book Sense Book of the Year Awards. The finalists in six categories -- Adult Fiction, Adult Nonfiction, Children's Literature, Children's Illustrated, Rediscovery, and Paperback -- are all Book Sense 76 titles nominated by ABA bookseller members as their handselling favorites. The awards will be announced at the Celebration of Bookselling, on Friday, May 30, during this year's BookExpo America, at the Los Angeles Convention Center in California.

2003 Newbery & Caldecott Awards
Jan 27, 2003
The ALA announced the 2003 Newbery Award Winners. Avi, author of Crispin: The Cross of Lead, and Eric Rohmann, illustrator and author of My Friend Rabbit, are the 2003 winners of the John Newbery and Randolph Caldecott medals, the most prestigious awards in children’s literature.

2003 Coretta Scott King Awards
Jan 27, 2003
Nikki Grimes, author of Bronx Masquerade, and E.B. Lewis, illustrator of Talkin' About Bessie: The Story of Aviator Elizabeth Coleman, are the 2003 Coretta Scott King Awards honoring African-American authors and illustrators of outstanding books for children and young adults. Janet McDonald, author of Chill Wind, is the Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent (text) Award; and Randy DuBurke is the Steptoe New Talent (illustrator) Award.

Award Winners > Caldecott
Updated: Annually in January since 1938
In the words of the ALA, "The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children." Read more about the Caldecott Awards by visiting the ALA site.

Award Winners > Coretta Scott King Award
Updated: Annually in January since 1969
This award is given to authors and illustrators of African descent "whose distinguished books promote an understanding and appreciation of the American Dream." It is awarded annually by the Coretta Scott King Task Force of the ALA. Find out more about this prestigious award!

Visit CCF on eBay!
click to subscribe and get the CCF bulletin click to subscribe and get the CCF bulletin

Advanced Search
"Pa'lante" (Move on) by Willy Chirino
Highlights 2008 Fiction Contest
Run the Great Wall Marathon with Christine!
Run Antarctica with Christine!
The Science Is In: Elephants Are Even Smarter Than We Realized
Synchronization of 32 metronomes
The real zoo behind the movie "We Bought a Zoo"
How many types of bikes can you name?
Be the Boss of Diabetes
New study suggests food to be as addictive as heroin/cocaine.
Charter School Defies Odds: Thurgood Marshall Academy in D.C.
Anna Fitzhugh Helps Kids with Learning Disabilities
CCF Writer: An Online Writing Contest
When Push Comes to Shove
2010 ALA Youth Media Awards
Follow the ALA Youth Media Awards live on Jan. 18, 2010
CCF Links
CCF Bulletin 8:1
Barack Obama: We are what we learn
Stephen King & Jerry Jenkins: An Epic Conversation on Writing
Holiday Favorites
What is your favorite holiday book or tradition?
Farolitos of Christmas

© 2002 Children Come First. All rights reserved.